Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



A pair of George Brown Huskies, Anh Hoang of Badminton and Zae Sellers of Basketball, were recipients of the 2019-2020 CCAA Academic All-Canadian award.

This marks the third straight year that Hoang earned the honour, while it is the second consecutive time for Sellers. The pair of women were two of 191 student-athletes across the country that achieved a combined excellence in collegiate athletics and academics.

Since coming to George Brown College, Hoang has been one of the most consistent athletes in the country. This year she earned a bronze, being her third straight medal at the CCAA Championship in Women's Singles. The Business Administration student also claimed silver medals at the Provincial and Regional Championships this past season.

In her final season, Sellers was a dominant player and was instrumental in the team finishing second in the East Division with a 13-3 record. The veteran point guard was recognized for her standout season by being named an OCAA East Division first-team All-Star. The Civil Engineering Technology student set career-highs with 19.3 points and 4.7 assists, which ranked in the top four in the OCAA.

The CCAA Academic All-Canadian award, presented by Brandew Athlete, is the CCAA's most prestigious student-athlete honour, epitomizing a commitment of academic success and athletic achievement.

As part of our new partnership, CCAA Academic All-Canadians receive complimentary access to the Brandnew Elite Athlete Transformation Program ( We wish to thank Brandnew for the opportunity to enrich the lives of our student-athletes with their revolutionary learning platform that focuses on the personal development of elite athletes.

In addition, the CCAA Academic All-Canadian Recognition Award is presented each year to the institution with the most student-athlete award recipients. Humber College led the CCAA with 15 recipients. Holland College, which led the country the previous five straight seasons, placed second with 10. 

Check out the full list of the award recipients.